ALICE AND CHANGES

Standard

A wise woman once said that change is the only certainty in life. We are born anew every day, in fact from minute to minute. Nothing stays the same. No thing.

I have taken the changes in my life in interesting ways. At times I went into change kicking and screaming and other times I actually created the changes-and big ones. But the bottom line for me is that change is thrilling. Every change I have been through has brought me fresh self-awareness, new insights, and with each ending there was a beginning. And more often than not the new beginning was better than what was before. Change is growth, and growth can hurt, but in the end it is always worth it. That has been my experience.

Now, in the latter part of my life I am still making big changes and with the planning of them comes excitement, new hope, and a feeling that possibilities are limitless. I am limitless. It is a grand feeling. I feel as a butterfly on the first day out of the cocoon. Everything is new and strange and wonderful. The sun is blinding.  I am new and strange and wonderful. I can do anything, be anything. I  can rearrange my priorities, give myself something I have never had…freedom. And freedom is some scary shit! But I am ready.

Everything I have been through has brought me to this moment, and this moment I am on a precipice getting ready to jump, fly-god knows what. I am terrified, yet at the same time I have never felt so buoyant, so happy. For the first time in a long time, I know what I want and I know what I must do to get it. And I am doing it. Changing, becoming, being in the flow. Okay with being afraid. Doing it anyway. Birthing my self. And you know what? The wise woman who said that change is the only certainty in life, was me.

Leave a Reply

